teach-ict.com logo

THE education site for computer science and ICT

3. LMC Instruction Set

An assembly language is composed of mnemonics that have a direct equivalent in the CPU's machine code.

The LMC instruction set is made up 11 mnemonics, ten of which have a numeric code to model machine code.

The mnemonics can be classified as follows:

Calculation operators

  • ADD
  • SUB

Branching operators

  • BRA
  • BRZ
  • BRP

Input - Output operators

  • INP
  • OUT

Memory operators

  • LOAD
  • DAT

Halt operators

  • HLT / COB

Thus you need to learn eleven mnemonics for writing LMC code. The next page explains each of these instructions in detail.


Challenge see if you can find out one extra fact on this topic that we haven't already told you

Click on this link: What is the LMC Little Man Computer