BTEC Level 2 (new 2010 syllabus)

The BTEC First is a level 2 qualification that can be delivered at KS4 and KS5.


The BTEC First Diploma is a 360 guided learning hour qualification comprising core and specialist units which cover aspects of knowledge, understanding and competency necessary for employment within the sector. As such the BTEC First Diploma offers a qualification which can extend a learner’s programme of study and provide vocational emphasis within their programme of study.

Students study 6 units which are usually taught over 2 years.

It is the equivalent of 4 GCSEs at A* - C. Students receive 4 grades of either

  • Distinction* (A* GCSE equivalent)
  • Distinction (A GCSE equivalent)
  • Merit or (B GCSE equivalent)
  • Pass (C GCSE equivalent)

The Edexcel Level 2 BTEC First Certificate is a 180 guided learning hour qualification which offers a bite-sized opportunity for learners to experience a vocational qualification. The BTEC First Certificate offers a focused vocational qualification for learners who wish to follow a shorter programme of study related to an aspect of employment that they might wish to move into; or a taster qualification which can extend their programme of study and provide an initial experience of a vocational area. This will also enable learners to progress to a higher level qualification relevant to the sector.


On advice of the BTEC IT SSV, you must check these assignments and ensure they pass the internal verification process, taking any content without checking may result in an unintended block status



Copyright ©